Wikia

Weiss Schwarz Wiki

Q & A

Talk0
1,697pages on
this wiki

The following Q & A section are based off the original Q&A that can be accessed at here

No.1
Question: When a card is placed on the Stock Area from the top of the Deck via a card's effect, can I check the card that is Stocked?
Answer: No, the card cannot be checked and will be Stocked face-down.


No.2
Question: Can character Backup effect be used regardless of the card's colour?
Answer: Yes, Backup effect ignores colour restriction, however, level restrictions still applies.


No.3
Question: What is the order of resolve for Deck Refresh?
Answer: When the Deck contains 0 card, no matter what effect is being resolved at the point of time, turn all the cards in the Waiting Room face-down, shuffle and use it as the new deck. Then resolve any event that was interrupted by the Refresh, and finally Clock one card from the top of the Deck.


No.4
Question: If I deal 2 damage to an opponent who is at level 3 with a Clock of 6, the first card overturned being a non-Climax Card, and the second is a Climax Card, do I win the battle because the non-Climax Card is drawn first?
Answer: No, the cards overturned are not Clocked until all the cards are overturned, in the case of a Climax Card being overturned, it would be treated as no damage having be inflicted in the first place.


No.5
Question: After a Front Attack is declared, if the Character Card directly in front is returned to hand via a card's effect, do the attack become a Direct Attack instead?
Answer: No, the attack remains a Front Attack, and no Soul bonus will be awarded, the opponent can still choose to play a Counter Card as well, however, as there are no Character to conduct battle against the Battle Step is skipped.


No.6
Question: After a Side Attack is declared, if the Character Card directly in front is returned to hand via a card's effect, do the attack become a Direct Attack instead?
Answer: No, the Attack remains a Side Attack, and the Soul penalty of the opponent's card level still applies even if the card is returned to hand before the damage step.


No.7
Question: Can I count the number of cards in the Clock, Stock, Deck, or Waiting Room?
Answer: Yes you can, you may also do the same for your opponent's if you get his/her's permission.


No.8
Question: Can I use the cards in the Stock in any order I like?
Answer: No, the Stocks are removed in a last in first out manner.


No.9
Question: Can I check what cards are in my own Stock?
Answer: No, Stocks are non-open information and their content cannot be checked. Players are however allowed to count the number of Stocks.


No.10
Question: When the card text states (~してよい) does it mean I can choose not to activate the effect?
Answer: Yes, you can choose not to activate the effect, the term is loosely translated in the translations used in this wiki into "you may".


No.11
Question: When using event and abilities that return Character Cards from the Waiting Room to the hand, can Character Cards sent to Waiting Room as a result of paying the cost of the ability activated be chosen as the target and be returned to the hand?
Answer: Yes, cost are paid before the card text's effect are carried out, therefore, when the effect is resolved the Character Card used to pay the cost is already in the Waiting Room and is a legit target for selection.


No.12
Question: Can Startup Abilities be activated multiple time in 1 turn?
Answer: Yes, Startup Abilities can be activated as many time as a player desire as long as the cost can be paid.


No.13
Question: Can Event Cards with the Counter-Attack Icon be used outside of the Counter Step?
Answer: Yes, Counter Event Cards can be played as a normal Event Card.


No.14
Question: Can Characters that are sent to Waiting Room as the payment of a cost be Encored?
Answer: Yes, they can be Encored.


No.15
Question: In the case that there is a card with an ALARM effect that triggers when a Character is reversed, and the player is attacked and suffers damage. Do the damage comes first and negate the ALARM effect, or do the ALARM effect trigger first?
Answer: The damage will negate the ALARM effect, this is because the damage step comes before the battle step, which is the step where cards get reversed when they lose a battle.


No.16
Question: In the case that a card with the Pool Icon(Stock Icon) is triggered when it is the last card in the Deck. What is the order of resolve?
Answer: First rebuild the Deck, then take the top card and put it in the Stock Area. After which the triggered card is added to the Stock, finally, Clock the top card of the Deck for Refreshing the Deck.


No.17
Question: When a card with Pool Icon(Stock Icon) is triggered, is the top card Stocked first or the triggered card Stocked first?
Answer: When a card is triggered, it is first place in the resolve area while the effect is resolved, therefore, while the triggered card is in the resolve area, its effect of Stocking the top card will take place first. When the resolving of the effect is over, the triggered card is then Stocked in the Stock Area.


No.18
Question: When 「ロボ美春」battles and defeats「ゆず&慎」, putting it in 【Reverse】, 「ゆず&慎」 is returned to the top of the deck by 「ロボ美春」's effect, in this case do the effect of 「ゆず&慎」 still apply and turn 「ロボ美春」 to 【Reverse】?
Answer: Yes, once a Startup Ability is triggered, even if the source of the ability is remove the effect will still go through.


No.19
Question: When a card with the Comeback icon(Salvage Icon) is triggered as the last card in the Deck, what is the order of resolve?
Answer: First place the triggered card in the resolve area, then Refresh the Deck, then resolve the effect of the triggered Comeback Icon. However, since the Deck is rebuilt, there will be no cards in the Waiting Room and the Salvage effect is ignored, having resolved the effect to the best possible manner, the triggered card is then place on the Stock Area. Finally, Clock 1 card from the top of the Deck for Refreshing the Deck.


No.20
Question: Do running out of cards in the Deck result in defeat?
Answer: No, a Deck is Refreshed instead. In the case of a Deck having 0 cards left, immediately halt all resolving of effects, turn the cards in the Waiting Room face-down and shuffle the cards before placing them on the Deck area as the rebuilt Deck, then continue resolving any effect halted, if any. Finally, Clock 1 card from the top of the Deck(damage cancellation do not apply). However, if a Deck refresh is impossible when the Deck have 0 cards left, that is, both the Deck and Waiting room contains 0 cards, the player immediately loses.


No.21
Question: When 2 card is to be drawn, and the Deck runs out of cards after the 1st card is drawn, what is the order of resolve?
Answer: First, rebuild the Deck, then resolve the queued effect and draw the second card, finally, Clock the top card of the Deck.


No.22
Question: When resolving damage, if the Deck runs out of card before all the damage Cards are overturn, what is the order of resolve?
Answer: First, rebuild the Deck, then resolve the queued effect and overturn the rest of the cards. After the damage is resolved, Clock the top card on the Deck.


No.23
Question: When cards are sent to the Waiting Room, can they still be Encored even if its not during the Encore step?
Answer: Yes, Encore rule applies in other phases as well.


No.24
Question: Can cards be played during the opponent's turn?
Answer: No, the only exception is cards with the Counter-Attack Icon, one card with the Counter-Attack Icon can be played per Front Attack.


No.25
Question: Can a player choose not to Clock a card during the Clock Phase?
Answer: Yes, however, if a card is not Clocked, the player may not draw the 2 additional cards during the Clock Phase.


No.26
Question: Can I play more than 1 card of the same name on the Stage?
Answer: Yes, there are no rules in this game which states that cards of the same name cannot be present on the Stage at the same time.


No.27
Question: Do I still damage the opponent during a Front Attack?
Answer: Yes, the damage to the player applies even if there is a Character Card on the opponent's Stage.


No.28
Question: If a card states (2枚まで) draw, can I choose to draw 0 cards?
Answer: Yes, the player is free to choose a number from 0 to 2. The example above will be translated as "Up to 2 cards" in our wiki.


No.29
Question: What point in time do "When this card attacks" (このカードがアタックした時) refers to?
Answer: After a Character Card is changed to 【Rest】 position, and declared a Front, Side or Direct Attack, and before the Trigger Step.


No.30
Question: Can I 【Rest】 a card that is already in 【Rest】 position?
Answer: No, you cannot, a card that is already in 【Rest】 position cannot be "changed" to 【Rest】 position again. Therefore, cost which requires that a card be changed to 【Rest】 position cannot be paid by a Character already in 【Rest】 position.


No.31
Question: Can more than 1 Climax Card be played on the Climax Area?
Answer: No, only 1 Climax Card can be in play at any one time.


No.32
Question: Can cards in the Stock be sent to the Waiting Room at any time in the game?
Answer: No, cards in the Stock can only be sent to the Waiting Room when they are used to pay a cost or because of an effect that is specified in card text.


No.33
Question: The top card on the Clock Area after receiving damage happens to be a card with ALARM effect, what happens?
Answer: As long as the conditions required for the ALARM effect is cleared, its effect will be applied.


No.34
Question: When a card is returned to the hand, placed at the top of the Deck, or sent to the Stocks, can I Encore these cards if they are Character Cards?
Answer: No, Encore only applies if the card is sent from the Stage to the waiting room.


No.35
Question: When there are 2 cards with the ASSIST ability in the Back Stage, do the Character in the center slot of Center Stage receives both the effects of the support abilities?
Answer: Yes, the character in the center slot of Center Stage will be affected by both support abilities.


No.36
Question: Can I pay the cost and not return the Character Card being Encored?
Answer: No, if the cost is paid for an Encore, the Character must be placed back in the slot it was occupying in a 【Rest】 position.


No.37
Question: Can I use more than 1 Backup card at the same time?
Answer: No, only 1 Counter Card or Backup Ability can be used per Front Attack.


No.38
Question: There is a Character in the opponent's center slot of Center Stage with the BodyGuard Ability, can I declare a Side Attack?
Answer: No, Direct Attack are also not allowed. When a Character with BodyGuard is in the center slot of Center Stage the opponent can only choose to perform a Front Attack on the card with the BodyGuard Ability.


No.39
Question: If a character with BodyGuard and Power of 9500 battles a Character with 6000 Power first, then conduct battle with a card with 5000 Power, do it lose the battle?
Answer: No, there are no rules in this game where multiple Character battle in the same turn using the same card will result in any sort of penalty, the card with 5000 Power will still lose.


No.40
Question: When multiple Automatic Ability is triggered, which should get resolved first?
Answer: The turn player gets to choose the order of his own triggered Automatic Ability first. When all of these abilities are resolved, the non-turn player then get to choose the order of and resolve his triggered Automatic Ability.


No.41
Question: When should the cost of an Automatic Ability be paid?
Answer: After the effect is triggered and before the effect is resolved and carried out.


No.42
Question: Do Character abilities still apply when they are in 【Reverse】 position?
Answer: Yes, unless specifically stated otherwise, battle is also conducted as usual.


No.43
Question: What does it mean when a card states that [this card cannot be targeted by opponent's effect]?
Answer: It means the card is not a selectable target when opponent's card effect or rule require them to choose a target.


No.44
Question: When a level 0 Character gets its level decreased by 1, does it become a negative level Character?
Answer: Yes, there are cases where Character level becomes negative value.


No.45
Question: When a Character's level becomes negative, does it get sent to the Waiting Room?
Answer: No, there are no specific repercussion to a Character's level becoming negative.


No.46
Question: When Side Attacking a Character with negative level do my Soul Point increase?
Answer: No, there are no changes to the Soul Point in this case.


No.47
Question: What does it mean to inflict damage?
Answer: The procedure is the same as when damage is inflicted by battle. The player receiving the damage will overturn the same number of cards as the damage inflicted and Clock it at the Clock area, if a Climax Card is overturned all of the overturned cards are sent to the Waiting Room instead.


No.49
Question: If a character is in 【Rest】 position for paying a cost and is changed back to a 【Stand】 position by some effect, can I turn it to 【Rest】 again to pay for a cost?
Answer: Yes you may.


No.50
Question: If two Character with the same Power value battles and both card is turned to 【Reverse】, and one of the card's Power is increased because its in 【Reverse】, can that card avoid being turned to 【Reverse】?
Answer: No, it cannot, since that would means the Power value is only increased after the battle takes place, both card will still be turned to 【Reverse】.


No.51
Question: Do Characters in front refers to all the Characters in the Center Stage?
Answer: No, if the card is in the left Back Stage slot, in front refers to the left and center slot of Center Stage, if it was in the right Back Stage slot, in front refers to the right and center slot of Center Stage.


No.52
Question: What does the BodyGuard ability do?
Answer: If an opponent Character Card declares an attack, and a card with this ability is present in the center slot of Center Stage and is not in 【Reverse】 position, the opposing Character Card performs a Front Attack on the card with this ability regardless of its original position or target.


No.53
Question: When 「霧羽 香澄」battles and defeat「ゆず&慎」, 「ゆず&慎」 is returned to the hand by 「霧羽 香澄」's effect, in this case do the effect of 「ゆず&慎」 still apply and turn 「霧羽 香澄」 to 【Reverse】?
Answer: Yes, once a Startup Ability is triggered, even if the source of the ability is remove the effect will still go through.


No.54
Question: When a Character Card under the effect of the card [決意] loses a battle and is sent to the Waiting Room, do I need to place it in the Memory Area at the end of the turn?
Answer: No, when a card move from one slot to any area that is not a slot, it is considered a different card and so [決意]'s effect does not apply.


No.55
Question: Do I require the card 「学生服の工藤」 to be on the Stage to use [工藤 叶]?
Answer: Yes, 「学生服の工藤」 has to be on the Stage.


No.56
Question: When the opponent have 3 or less card in his Deck and the cards at the top of his Deck is seen using [大和撫子 環]'s ability, do his Deck get Refreshed?
Answer: No, when the cards in his Deck is seen, it is still considered part of the Deck, and thus his Deck have not yet run out of cards.


No.57
Question: How many of the same card can I include in a deck?
Answer: You can include up to four cards of the same name in each deck. Card variation with different card index, images, and flavour text, etc. are all considered the same card as long as they have the exact same card name. The only exception to this rule so far is プリニー隊 from disgaea and 妹達 from index/railgun.

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki